March 2017

October 2015

Frieda B. Awarded Best Picture Book Series

by National 2015 Moonbeam Children’s Book Awards


(Somers, CT…Oct. 20, 2015) The results of the 2015 National Moonbeam Children’s Book Awards ( have been announced, and the Frieda B. series by author Renata Bowers has been awarded the Gold for Best Picture Book Series. The Moonbeam Awards – chosen by judging panels of book reviewers, librarians, teachers and students – are designed to bring increased recognition to the year’s best children’s books.

“Our judges loved Frieda B. and the way the books deliver great, positive messages to kids without being preachy.  The artwork is compelling and the storytelling is creative – Frieda B. is a hit!” – Jim Barnes, Moonbeam Awards Director

In writing the Frieda B. books, Renata’s number one objective is to help children dream big and believe they are free to be the unique story they each carry inside, just like key character Frieda B.

“Frieda B. is the world’s biggest dreamer.  Through her adventures, and the lessons each bring, I weave tales of believing in oneself, and believing in others,” says Bowers.  “Frieda B. encourages children to believe that each of us has an important one-of-a kind story to tell – a story that can make a difference in the world.”

When asked what this award means to her – and to her company, Frieda B., LLC – Renata responded, “It’s a great honor, and a great blessing.  This award gives us the opportunity to reach more children – more parents and caregivers – with a message of imagination, purpose and worth.”

Masterfully illustrated by renowned children’s illustrator Michael Chesworth, the Frieda B. series currently consists of four titles: Frieda B. Herself (2010); Frieda B. Meets the Man in the Moon (2012); Frieda B. and the Zillabeast (2013); and Frieda B. and the Finkledee Ink (2014).  Renata also is author of Good Dogs, Great Listeners (2015), a picture book commissioned by the parents of Charlotte Bacon, who lost her life at Sandy Hook School in 2012 ( A new Frieda B. book is planned for 2016.

To learn more about – and purchase – Frieda B. books, visit  

Books also are available through Amazon and select retailers.  Frieda B., LLC is publisher of the series.